The Rosenberger Medal

The Rosenberger Medal was established in 1917 by Mr. and Mrs. Jesse L. Rosenberger in recognition of achievement through research, in authorship, in invention, for discovery, for unusual public service, or for anything deemed of great benefit to humanity.

Nominations for the Rosenberger Medal are submitted and voted on by several faculty Ruling Bodies. Rosenberger Medalists are invited to receive their awards at the spring quarter convocation, and to give a public lecture or workshop during the following academic year.

2017 Steve Coleman, Composer, Saxophonist, and Educator
2016 Kerry James Marshall, Artist
2015 Ashley Wheater, Artistic Director, The Joffrey Ballet
2014 Josephine Lee, President and Artistic Director, Chicago Children's Choir
2013 Jeanne K. Gang, Principal and Founder, Studio Gang Architects
2012  Anne Bogart, Co-founder and Artistic Director of SITI Company
2010 Earl Von Freeman, Sr., Tenor Saxophonist and National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Master
2006 William Kentridge, South African Artist